Overview
Karnataka Examinations Authority (KEA), Bengaluru, on behalf of the School Education Department (Pre-University Education), Govt. of Karnataka has released a recruitment notification for the post of Principal, Government Pre-University Colleges (247 (31 under Kalyana-Karnataka Local Cadre + 216 under Residual Parent Cadre) vacancies). Eligible candidates can apply online only before 04.10.2026.
Key Details
- Organization
- Karnataka Examinations Authority (KEA), Bengaluru, on behalf of the School Education Department (Pre-University Education), Govt. of Karnataka
- Qualification
- KEA Principal Recruitment 2026 is not open to the general public or fresh candidates. Only Lecturers currently working in Government Pre-University Colleges under the School Education Department are eligible, subject to the qualification and service conditions below.
- Vacancies
- 247 (31 under Kalyana-Karnataka Local Cadre + 216 under Residual Parent Cadre)
- Posted
- 07.09.2026
- Last date to apply
- 04.10.2026
Important Dates
| Application Start Date | 07.09.2026 |
| Application Last Date | 04.10.2026 |
| Online application start date | 07.09.2026 |
| Online application last date | 04.10.2026 |
| Last date to pay application fee | 05.10.2026 |
| Competitive examination date (Papers 1, 2 & 3) | Not specified – to be announced later on the KEA website |
Vacancy Details
A total of 247 Principal posts are being filled through this recruitment, split across two cadres. Category-wise vacancy breakups are given below. S. No.: Post Name | No. of Posts 1: Principal – Kalyana-Karnataka (KK) Local Cadre | 31 (GM-15, SC-A-2, SC-B-2, SC-C-1, ST-1, Cat-1-2, 2A-5, 2B-1, 3A-1, 3B-1) 2: Principal – Residual Parent Cadre (RPC) | 216 (GM-108, SC-A-12, SC-B-11, SC-C-10, ST-7, Cat-1-9, 2A-32, 2B-9, 3A-8, 3B-10) Within each vertical category above, horizontal reservations also apply for women, rural candidates, ex-servicemen, Kannada-medium candidates, persons with disabilities, and transgender candidates, as detailed in the official notification's roster tables.
Eligibility
KEA Principal Recruitment 2026 is not open to the general public or fresh candidates. Only Lecturers currently working in Government Pre-University Colleges under the School Education Department are eligible, subject to the qualification and service conditions below.
Age Limit
No age limit is prescribed for KEA Principal Recruitment 2026. The notification states that since this recruitment fills vacancies in the Principal post from among serving Lecturers in Government Pre-University Colleges who have completed 10 years of service under the School Education Department, no upper age limit applies.
Salary
Selected candidates will be placed in the revised 2024 Karnataka state pay scale of Rs. 90,200 – Rs. 1,59,200 (90200-2300-99400-2700-115600-3100-134200-3500-155200-4000-159200). Pension benefits for officers appointed as Principal will continue to be governed by the pension rules applicable to their original appointment as Lecturer.
Application Fee
Category: Fee General Merit and other categories (2A / 2B / 3A / 3B): Rs. 1,500/- SC / ST / Category-1 / Ex-servicemen / Third Gender: Rs. 1,000/- Persons with Disabilities (Special Category): Rs. 500/- The fee must be paid online only, and once paid, it will not be refunded under any circumstances.
Selection Process
Selection is through a competitive examination conducted by KEA, either in Online (CBT) mode or Offline (OMR) mode. The exam consists of three papers. Paper: Subject | No. of Questions | Max. Marks | Duration Paper 1: Kannada Language Test (qualifying only) | 150 | 150 | 3 hours Paper 2: General Studies (History & Cultural Heritage, Social & Political Perspective, Indian Economy, Constitution, Public Administration, Science & Technology, Environment & Ecology, Ethics, Aptitude) | 150 | 150 | 3 hours Paper 3: Karnataka Civil Service Rules, Classification, Control & Appeal Rules 1957, KCS (Conduct) Rules, Karnataka Treasury Code, Karnataka Financial Code, Recruitment Rules, Karnataka Education Act 1983, Educational Psychology and allied topics | 150 | 150 | 3 hours • A minimum of 50 marks in Paper 1 (Kannada) is required to qualify, but Paper 1 marks are not counted while preparing the merit list – qualifying nature only. • Only marks scored in Papers 2 and 3 are used to prepare the final merit list. • Negative marking of 0.25 marks applies for each wrong answer in Papers 2 and 3 (bilingual Kannada/English question papers). • Shortlisting for document verification is done at 1:2 ratio against vacancies, category-wise, based on Paper 2 & 3 scores.
How to Apply
• Visit the official KEA website: https://cetonline.karnataka.gov.in/kea/ • Click on the online application link for the relevant Principal Recruitment notification (KK or RPC, as applicable). • Register and fill in personal, educational, and service details carefully. • Upload the photograph and signature as per the specified format and size. • Upload the required certificates and supporting documents. • Pay the prescribed application fee online. • Verify all entered details before final submission – no correction or modification is allowed after submission. • Download and retain a copy of the submitted application and the fee payment receipt.
Required Documents
• Aadhaar Card • SSLC certificate or equivalent proof of date of birth • Service certificate confirming Lecturer appointment, probation completion, and years of service • Caste certificate (SC/ST/Cat-1/2A/2B/3A/3B) bearing an RD number, where applicable • Income and caste (creamy-layer) certificate for Category 2A/2B/3A/3B candidates, where applicable • Rural candidate certificate (Form-2), where applicable • Kannada-medium study certificate, where applicable • Ex-servicemen or dependent certificate, where applicable • Disability certificate (UDID), where applicable • Third-gender certificate from the District Magistrate, where applicable • Kalyana-Karnataka local candidate certificate under Article 371(J) (Annexure-A), applicable only for KK-cadre posts • Recent passport-size photograph (JPEG, 50KB–200KB) and signature (JPEG, 50KB–70KB)
Important Instructions
• Applications will be accepted only through the online mode; no other method of submission is allowed. • No changes or corrections are permitted in the application once submitted. • Candidates must carry a valid original photo ID (PAN card, driving licence, Aadhaar, passport, voter ID, or government employee ID) along with the exam admission ticket to the exam centre. • Exam centre changes will not be entertained under any circumstances. • Applications found to have incorrect, insufficient, or false information will be rejected at any stage. • Providing false information or engaging in fraudulent practices may lead to disqualification and legal/disciplinary action. • For queries, candidates can call the KEA helpline: 080-23460460 (10:00 AM to 6:00 PM).
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the important dates for KEA Principal Recruitment 2026 Notification Out - Apply Online for 247 Posts?
Application Start Date: 07.09.2026; Application Last Date: 04.10.2026; Online application start date: 07.09.2026; Online application last date: 04.10.2026; Last date to pay application fee: 05.10.2026; Competitive examination date (Papers 1, 2 & 3): Not specified – to be announced later on the KEA website
What is the application fee?
Category: Fee General Merit and other categories (2A / 2B / 3A / 3B): Rs. 1,500/- SC / ST / Category-1 / Ex-servicemen / Third Gender: Rs. 1,000/- Persons with Disabilities (Special Category): Rs. 500/- The fee must be paid online only, and once paid, it will not be refunded under any circumstances.
What is the age limit?
No age limit is prescribed for KEA Principal Recruitment 2026. The notification states that since this recruitment fills vacancies in the Principal post from among serving Lecturers in Government Pre-University Colleges who have completed 10 years of service under the School Education Department, no upper age limit applies.
What is the selection process?
Selection is through a competitive examination conducted by KEA, either in Online (CBT) mode or Offline (OMR) mode. The exam consists of three papers. Paper: Subject | No. of Questions | Max. Marks | Duration Paper 1: Kannada Language Test (qualifying only) | 150 | 150 | 3 hours Paper 2: General Studies (History & Cultural Heritage, Social & Political Perspective, Indian Economy, Constitution, Public Administration, Science & Technology, Environment & Ecology, Ethics, Aptitude) | 150 | 150 | 3 hours Paper 3: Karnataka Civil Service Rules, Classification, Control & Appeal Rules 1957, KCS (Conduct) Rules, Karnataka Treasury Code, Karnataka Financial Code, Recruitment Rules, Karnataka Education Act 1983, Educational Psychology and allied topics | 150 | 150 | 3 hours • A minimum of 50 marks in Paper 1 (Kannada) is required to qualify, but Paper 1 marks are not counted while preparing the …